Navajo Council’s Resources & Development Committee Votes Unanimously to Outrun Navajo Uranium Ban

Photo of Navajo Council Delegate Leonard Tsosie courtesy of Grade your Council Delegate FB site.

Greetings Relatives/Frens/Humans,
Here is a very good story about the Resource & Development Committee’s debate and approval of RDC member Delegate Leonard Tsosoie’s Legislation 0373: An Action Relating To Resources And Development; Acknowledging The Right-Of-Way And Surface Use By Uranium Resources, Inc., Of Its Church Rock Properties Licensed By The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission License No. SUA-1580; Authorizing A Subcommittee.

Just a few corrections: The Navajo Council voted to approve the removal of abstaining votes. Jennafer Waggoner-Yellowhorse, the writer of the story, “RDC votes unanimously to outrun Navajo uranium ban,” stated that the vote was 3 in favor, 0 opposed, and 2 abstaining. But the two that she stated that abstained were RDC Chairperson Delegate Katherine Benally and RDC member Delegate David Tom. Committee chairpersons only vote in the event of a tie vote. RDC member Tom didn’t vote because he reportedly went to the restroom. The three “yes” votes were RDC Vice Chairperson Roscoe Smith and RDC members Leonard Tsosie and Leonard Pete.

(4) RDC Votes Unanimously to Outrun Navajo Uranium Ban.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *