Navajo Council Speaker Curley picks standing Committee members, 1.27.23

Greetings Relatives/Frens/Humans, Navajo Nation Council Speaker Crystalyne Curley appointed the members of the Navajo Council’s four standing committees Friday, Jan. 27, 2023. Curley’s proposed selection of committee members is in Legislation 0005-23, which she dropped in the legislative process late Friday night to begin its mandated electronic posting on the Navajo Council website for public comment before it can go before a committee or committees, before reaching the Navajo Council.

According to Curley’s Legislation 0005-23, it only goes before one committee, the Naabik’iyati Committee The five day public posting of 0005-23 ends Jan. 31, 2023, and it can go before the Naabik’iyati on Feb. 1, 2023, or anytime there after.

Written public comment on legislation ends when final action is taken on the legislation. According to legislative services, comments may be submitted to

The following are the proposed appointments to four of the five standing committees. The Naabik’iyati Committee consists of the committee chairpersons, vice-chairpersons, and committee members. During the Navajo Council’s annual winter session, which was from Jan. 23, to Jan. 26, at the Navajo Council chambers in Window Rock, Ariz., Navajo Council Delegate Danny Simpson announced that he would be dropping legislation in February for the 24-member Navajo Council to only have one standing committee.

Budget and Finance Committee:

  1. Norman M. Begay from Eastern Agency
  2. Lomardo Aseret from Fort Defiance Agency
  3. Carl Roessel Slater from Central Agency
  4. Shaandiin Parrish from Western Agency
  5. Seth Damon from Eastern Agency
  6. Amber Kanazbah Crotty from Northern Agency

Health, Education and Human Services Committee:

  1. George Tolth from Eastern Agency
  2. Dr. Andy Nez from Fort Defiance Agency
  3. Vince R. James from Fort Defiance Agency
  4. Germaine Simonson from Central Agency
  5. Helena Nez Begay from Western Agency
  6. Curtis Yanito from Northern Agenc

Resources and Development Committee

  1. Danny Simpson from Eastern Agency
  2. Brenda Jesus from Fort Defiance Agency
  3. Shawna Ann Claw from Central Agency
  4. Otto Tso from Western Agency
  5. Casey Allen Johnson from Western Agency
  6. Rickie Nez from Northern Agency

Law and Order Committee

  1. Steven R. Arviso from Eastern Agency
  2. Cherilyn Yazzie from Fort Defiance Agency
  3. Nathan Notah from Fort Defiance Agency
  4. Herman M. Daniels from Western Agency
  5. Eugenia Charles-Newton from Northern Agency

PHOTO CAPTION: Navajo Nation Chief Justice JoAnn Jayne administers the oath of office to Speaker Crystalyne Curley before the Navajo Council in the Navajo Nation Council chamber in Window Rock, Ariz., Jan. 23, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *